Acorn Oak Facts: Definition, Species

The Acorns Oak

There are approximately 400 different species of oak trees, which belong to the Quercus genus of trees. The natural range of the genus extends from Eurasia to North Africa, North America to the Caribbean and Mexico, and from Mexico south to Colombia.

Scientific name



Acorns are the fruit of the acorn tree, which are in the form of nuts. They can take the shape of an egg, a cylinder, or a cone and have a cemented wall that ranges in color from yellow-brown to dark brown or reddish-brown in the mature stage. In some species, the acorns can grow to be almost 4 centimeters in length, while in others, they are shorter than 1 centimeter in length. The acorns can be counted singly or in groups.

Some species

  • Oak ( Q. robur ), also known as sommarek, stjälkek, oak and common oak
  • Sessile oak ( Q. petraea ), also known as druvek and Vinterek, present in Sweden as well as oak
  • Cork oak ( Q. suber ) gives the cork and Quercus variabilis
  • Acorns from Quercus vallonea and Quercus macrolepis has commercial value as an ingredient in tanning.
  • The bark of kvercitronek or färgek ( Q. velutina ) leaves a useful feature yellow color
  • Turkey oak ( Q. cerris ), red oak ( Q. rubra ), blodek or scharlakansek ( Q. coccinea ), white oak ( Q. alba ) and Karrek ( Q. palustris ) occurs as ornamental and garden plants

Suggest us to improve this article, you can send us your article and we will change contact us.

❗️Check what Gardeners have purchased the most ❗️

Recent Posts

Stay Connected With Us for More Useful Gardening Tips!

We would like to offer and share more helpful information with you. 

error: Content is protected !!